I told SWMBO recently that before we could consider spending money for furniture or home improvements, we would need to have a budget. That way we could prioritize things and keep our financial reserves healthy. (Yes, some people still do that.)

I hadn’t given it much thought, but today, when I came home from work, I saw a flooring sample on the table. I thought, “Uh oh, something is gonna cost me some money.” Fortunately, SWMBO allayed my fears. She said she went to the flooring store to get estimates so she could make her budget. As we looked at the sample she told me about an exchange she had with the gentlemen working at the store.

“The guys working at the store asked me if I wanted to take a sample home for your husband to see,” she said. “I told them, ‘It doesn’t matter what he thinks.'” Apparently, that elicited a sympathetic laugh from the gentlemen.

See also: True love

